top of page
All Stories

New senators proclaimed

Updated: May 27, 2019

The Commission on Elections (Comelec), sitting en banc as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), proclaimed the 12 new senators Wednesday, May 22, more than a week after the midterm National and Local Elections.

The new senators and the votes they received based on the final tally of the NBOC Tuesday night are: Cynthia Villar (25,283,727); Grace Poe (22,029,788); Christopher “Bong” Go (20,657,702); Pia Cayetano (19,789,019); Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa (19,004,225); Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara (18,161,862); Manuel “Lito” Lapid (16,965,464); Maria Imelda Josefa “Imee” Marcos (15,882,628); Francis Tolentino (15,510,026);Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III (14,668,665); Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. (14,624,445); and Nancy Binay (14,504,936).

Comelec Chairman Sheriff Abas said the 12 new senators will serve for six years beginning noon of June 30, 2019.

Villar, Poe, Angara, Pimentel and Binay are reelectionists while Cayetano, Lapid and Revilla are returning senators. Tolentino, Marcos, Go and Dela Rosa will serve as senators for the first time.

Go and Dela Rosa are both neophyte politicians, having served as presidential aide and police chief, respectively.

Formal proclamation of the newly elected senators started at about 10:30 a.m. Wednesday at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC).

Comelec is also set to proclaim the winners in the party-list elections at 7 p.m. Wednesday. The party-list groups will occupy a total of 61 seats at the House of Representatives. (Ventures Cebu)

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter
bottom of page